Bellary Diocese

  • Create an account
    Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.

Our Patron - St. Anthony

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events currently scheduled.
View full calendar

CBCI Plenary Assembly Elects New Office Bearers

E-mail Print PDF

NEW DELHI, Mar. 02, 2010 (CBCI News):  The Catholic Bishops’ Conference of India (CBCI) has elected Cardinal Oswald Gracias of Mumbai as its new President for the next two years on Monday, March 1, 2010 at its 29th General Body Meeting being held at Don Bosco Institute in Guwahati.

One hundred and forty five member bishops of CBCI took part in the election of new office bearers. The office bearers of the CBCI consist of President, 2 Vice Presidents and Secretary General. At every biennial General Body Meeting of the Bishops new officer bearers are elected to guide the apex body of the Catholic Church in India.


Cardinal Oswald expressed his gratitude to the bishops for placing their trust in him and assured them that he would continue the good work of his predecessors for the whole Catholic Church in the country. Cardinal Oswald Gracias is also President of Conference of Catholic Bishops of India (CCBI) belonging to the bishops of Latin rite, which is one of the three Episcopal bodies of Catholic Bishops’ Conference of India.


The outgoing President of CBCI Cardinal Varkey Vithayathil, Major Archbishop of the Syro-Malabar tradition and Archbishop of Ernakulam-Angamaly who was unable to attend the Plenary Assembly of Bishops thanked the religious heads of the Catholic Church for their cooperation and support to him for the last two years as President of CBCI.


His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cleemis, the Major Archbishop the Syro-Malankara tradition and Archbishop of Trivandrum was elected as Vice-President I and Bishop George Punnakottil of Kothamangalam belonging to the Syro-Malabar Church was elected as the Vice-President II of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of India.


Archbishop Albert D’Souza of Agra was elected as the new Secretary General of the CBCI for next two years. The Secretary General of the Bishops’ Conference is the chief functionary and as such he deals with the most important matters that come under the purview of the Conference. He is assisted by the Deputy Secretary General of CBCI Rev. Fr. Thomas d’Aquino Sequeira.


This year one hundred and sixty three member bishops of Catholic Bishops’ Conference of India participated at the inaugural ceremony of the Plenary Assembly of the Bishops on February 24, 2010 at Don Bosco Institute in Guwahati. The CBCI has 228 member Bishops from the Latin, Syro-Malabar and the Syro-Malankara ecclesial traditions. Among these are 158 heads of dioceses of whom 3 are Cardinals, 27 Archbishops and 51 Retired Bishops.


You are here: Home News Events & Updates CBCI Plenary Assembly Elects New Office Bearers

Bellary Arogya Mathe Shrine

Bellary-Mathe-small The Shrine of Bellary Arogya Mathe was blessed and dedicated on 8th September 2000 on the feast of the Nativity of our Blessed Mother Mary in memory of the great jubilee 2000 and the Golden Jubilee of the Diocese of Bellary


Diocesan Diamond Jubilee

This year is Diamond Jubilee of our Bellary Diocese.  It is completing 60 years in the service to God and His people.


Loss of Life and Property due to Flash Floods in Bellary Diocese

 Number of people affected : 151,934
Loss of life : 72
Villages affected : 1,296
Houses destroyed/damaged : 118,833
Relief being distributed to : 3,500 families
No. Catholic houses lost: 560
Number of medical camps held : 22