Bellary Diocese

  • Create an account
    Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.

Our Patron - St. Anthony

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events currently scheduled.
View full calendar

117 Cardinals Eligible to Vote for the Next Pope, Five From India

E-mail Print PDF

alt16 February, 2013: As of February 16, there are 117 cardinals eligible to vote for the next Pope.

Of that total, Benedict XVI created 67 cardinals during the five consistories of his pontificate. The largest happened in November 2010, when he created 24 cardinals.

The smallest, and most recent, was the consistory on November 2012. Benedict XVI elevated six prelates then, which for the first time did not include Europeans.

The five Indian Cardinals eligible to vote are: Crdinal Ivan Dias (presently is Rome), Cardinal Telesphore Toppo (Archbishop of Ranchi), Cardinal Oswald Gracias (Archbishop of Mumbai), Cardinal George Alencherry of Syro-Malabar (Major-Archbishop of Ernakulam) and Cardinal Baselios Cleems of Syro-Malankara (Major-Archbishop of Trivandrum).

You are here: Home News Events & Updates 117 Cardinals Eligible to Vote for the Next Pope, Five From India

Bellary Arogya Mathe Shrine

Bellary-Mathe-small The Shrine of Bellary Arogya Mathe was blessed and dedicated on 8th September 2000 on the feast of the Nativity of our Blessed Mother Mary in memory of the great jubilee 2000 and the Golden Jubilee of the Diocese of Bellary


Diocesan Diamond Jubilee

This year is Diamond Jubilee of our Bellary Diocese.  It is completing 60 years in the service to God and His people.


Loss of Life and Property due to Flash Floods in Bellary Diocese

 Number of people affected : 151,934
Loss of life : 72
Villages affected : 1,296
Houses destroyed/damaged : 118,833
Relief being distributed to : 3,500 families
No. Catholic houses lost: 560
Number of medical camps held : 22